Capital Punishment Reform Study Committee

Minutes of meeting, October 13, 2010

On Wednesday, October 13, 2010, the Committee met at the

office of Jenner & Block, 353 N. Clark, from 9 to 10:30 A.M.

Those Present

Not Present

Leigh B. Bienen Jennifer A. Bishop-Jenkins (conf. call) James R. Coldren Jeffrey M. Howard Edwin R. Parkinson (conf. call) Charles M. Schiedel Richard D. Schwind Alan J. Spellberg (for Walter Hehner) Geoffrey R. Stone (conf call) Randolph N. Stone Thomas P. Sullivan Arthur L. Turner Eric C. Weis (conf. call) Kirk W. Dillard Boyd J. Ingemunson Michael J. Waller

Also present: David E. Olson, Loyola University; Mark

Warnsing, Senate Republican Staff; Jeremy Schroeder, Katie

Holihen, and Mara Forster-Smith, Illinois Coalition to Abolish the

Death Penalty; Jonathan Sabo, Northwestern University law

student; and Spiridoula "Litza" Mavrothalasitis, Jenner & Block.

The Committee reviewed the discussions and decisions reached during its meetings on August 24 and September 7, 2010, and a new, red-lined version of the Sixth and Final Report, including minority comments.

Mr. Howard agreed to send several changes to the text to the Chair.

After discussion, the following Resolution was adopted by unanimous vote:

RESOLUTION

The Committee approves the Sixth and Final Report in the form in which it was presented to members today.

If but only if the Chair and Vice Chair explicitly agree, nonsubstantive changes, additions, deletions, citations and references may be made to the Sixth and Final Report before it is reproduced and distributed. All Committee members and Professor Olson are invited to suggest non-substantive changes to the Chair or Vice Chair no later than Monday, October 18, 2010 at 5 P.M.

The Chair and Vice Chair shall be responsible for assembling, reproducing and distributing this Sixth and Final Report and appendices. The Report will be sent to the past and present members of the Committee, specified members of the Illinois General Assembly, the Illinois Supreme Court, the Governor, the public officials who appointed Committee members, and other interested parties and organizations. The Sixth and Final Report shall also be posted on ICJIA website.

Unless requested by a Committee member in writing, this is the final meeting of the Committee.

All present and past members of the Committee have been privileged to serve.

A motion to adjourn sine die (without fixing a date for future

action or meeting) was adopted by unanimous vote

Thomas P. Sullivan Chair October 13, 2010